top of page

The Chakras and Energy Healing

Updated: Dec 29, 2022

So what is a Chakra and how does energy healing work with the chakras?

Well I'm here today to answer these questions for you and give you a bit of insight into how as a Reiki and crystal healing practioner I work with the Chakras to help you relax and connect with yourself!

The word Chakra comes from the Ancient Indian Sanskrit meaning wheel or disk and is described as energy centres or vortexes within our bodies and auric field.

The best way I like to describe what a Chakra looks like and how it operates is like a whirlpool of water. Imagine energy running through your body coming from your auric field, the earth and the heavens combining at various high vibrational points, creating a vortex of energy, a Chakra.

Now that you can picture a Chakra imagine these energy centres changing colours dependant on their location. I’ll give you a hint, the closer to our feet the earthier the colours and the higher we go the lighter and stronger the association with spiritual and/or thinking. It ultimately moves from our 3D reality, the real and tangible, to connection with the 5D, concepts, faith and higher frequencies.

Now there are 7 main chakras and that’s what will discuss in this article, but it’s important to know that there is believed to be up to 40 of these energy vortexes in total. That is a lot of energy we carry right!?

Let’s start to explore the 7 main Chakras from Root to Crown and what each represents.

Root Chakra

Represents: Instinct, Survival

Location: Perineum (between the anus and genitals)

Colour: Red

Imbalance Symptoms:

Emotional -Feeling ungrounded, lost and generally unsure of where we are going

Physical - Lower back pain, lower digestive issues, disconnected from family

Crystals for healing: Smokey Quartz, Bloodstone, Red Jasper, Mahogany Obsidian

Sacral Chakra

Represents: Creativity, Pleasure, Passion

Location: Below the Navel

Colour: Orange

Imbalance Symptoms:

Emotional - Lack of motivation, excitement or passion, Low energy, self denial, Sexual expression

Physical - Lower back pain, Energy levels,

Crystals for healing: Carnelian, Tigers eye, Orange calcite

Solar Plexus

Represents: Ego, Sense of 'Self', Creativity

Location: Above the Navel

Colour: Yellow

Imbalance Symptoms:

Emotional - Self-loathing, Helplessness, Lack of motivation, fearful of change, Co-dependency

Physical - Weight issues, Upper digestive issues

Crystals for healing: Citrine, Lemon Quartz, Amber


Represents: Love, Kindness

Location: Centre of Chest

Colour: Green

Imbalance Symptoms:

Emotional - Inability to trust, Emotional defensive, Self loathing, Emotionally disconnected

Physical - Heart burn, Tender chest, Sleep apnoea

Crystals for healing: Rose Quartz, Fuschite, Malachite


Represents: Expression, Communication

Location: Centre Throat

Colour: Blue

Imbalance Symptoms:

Emotional - Lying or exaggerating, loss of self expression, Lack of confidence

Physical - Sore or Croaky, Cough, shoulder pain, Inner ear/ throat disorders, Neck pain

Crystals for healing: Lapis Lazuli, Sodalite, Blue Kyanite

Third Eye

Represents: Intuition, Clairvoyance, Inner wisdom

Location: Centre of Forehead

Colour: Indigo

Imbalance Symptoms:

Emotional - Inability to focus, Anxiety, Unable to learn from mistakes

Physical - Headaches, Blurry vision, Sleep issues, Weak immune system

Crystals for healing: Amethyst, Fluorite, Sugilite


Represents: Spirit, Creation, Life purpose, Higher Self

Location: Top of the Head

Colour: Violet

Imbalance Symptoms:

Emotional - Feeling lost/confused about direction, Flighty, No spiritual belief

Physical - Headaches, Nervous disorders

Crystals for healing: Selenite, Clear quartz, Moonstone

So how does this relate to our day to day lives and how does energy healing work?

Well, when an energy centre is blocked it slows down the movement of that vortex. Which doesn’t allow the energy to freely flow and given that each chakra relates to a specific area as shown above, it can express itself in all kinds of ways that signal we are out of alignment with our flow state.

Practices such as Reiki and Crystal Healing help to move the energy and clear the blockages that we have. It’s usually a life-time of aligning and realigning we all do it on a daily basis as we interact with the environment around us.

Reiki just helps us to connect deeper within ourselves to recognise and release blockages that we have built up over time subconsciously, as we are ready to heal them. As a Reiki and crystal healing practioner my main purpose and intention is to facilitate healing so your energy can freely flow into what you are most passionate about and to live your life to its fullest.

So, consider this ...

What chakra noted above resonated with you the most?

What element were you drawn to, was it what the chakra represents? the blockages? colour or even the crystals?

I encourage you to do your own research and focus your attention on this chakra next time you meditate, and note down the feelings you experience. Remembering to be kind to yourself and that life is forever a healing journey so enjoy the best of it.

P.S. If your interested in a Reiki healing Session with me you can book via or drop me a message ❤

Love & Light

Emma xx

Luminated Flow

58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page